Computer Interfacing
Discussions about interfacing and electronics

Inquiry About HDLC CRC

Discerning HDLC CRC format for 2-way communication with existing devices

Computer Interfacing Forum Index -> Error detection and correction
shadowyfigure8
New User

Jun 25, 2008 7:25 pm

I am new to CRC, and would greatly appreciate some good advice on how to proceed with a basic problem. We have an immediate practical need to communicate with some existing devices using HDLC message frames, both inbound and outbound. According to documentation for this class of devices, the HDLC frames are supposed to use "CRC16". In the HDLC ISO standards document itself, its CRC format is not identified by name, but is said to use generator polynomial 0x1021 and remainder initialization 0xFFFF, like "CRC-CCITT", but then the one's complement of the resulting CRC value is appended to the data; at the message destination, the CRC calculation is done on BOTH the data AND the complemented number TOGETHER, and the result is supposed to match a special remainder constant 0x1D0F. I have other pieces of HDLC documentation variously identifying the format as either "CRC-16" or "CRC-CCITT" as well. The CRC numbers I'm getting however, out of an actual sample device, and their complements, seem to have no relation to the CRC-16 and CRC-CCITT values generated by Lammert Bies' calculator and other calculators, or their complements. In the document "Catalogue of Parameterized CRC Algorithms", the 19th example is called "CRC-16/ISO-HDLC", or "X-25". (My understanding is that "X.25" is not synonymous with "HDLC", and that it actually USES "LAPB", a specialized subset of HDLC.) This 19th example almost seems to fit what the standard says, but the final "magic remainder" to compare is given as 0xF0B8 rather than 0x1D0F. ???

Here are two sample HDLC messages, in hex, sent out of the actual device:

7E 08 91 87 44 7E
7E 08 B1 85 65 7E